Applications for Disaster SNAP Must Be Received by April 4

LINCOLN – The Disaster Declaration issued by President Trump last week included provisions that allow for individual assistance for some impacted by flooding, water damage and power outages due to the recent storms in eastern Nebraska.

The United States Department of Agriculture and the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services’ Division of Children and Family Services have approved the Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP) for affected, qualified individuals in the following counties and areas:

Butler Nemaha Douglas County
Zip Codes:
68007, 68022, 68064, 68069
68112, 68122, 68142, 68152
Cass Sarpy
Colfax Saunders
Dodge Washington

D-SNAP uses different qualifying rules than regular SNAP.  If you would not normally qualify for SNAP, based on income, you may qualify for D-SNAP if you have suffered one or more of the following disaster-related expenses:

  • Home or business repairs
  • Temporary shelter expenses
  • Evacuation or relocation expenses
  • Home or business protection
  • Disaster-related personal injury, including funeral expenses
  • Lost or no access to income due to the disaster, including reduced, terminated or delayed receipt of income, for a large part of the benefit period
  • In some cases, food loss after a disaster, like flooding or power outages

DHHS officials will determine eligibility based on available income, minus unreimbursed disaster related expenses.  All resources except cash on hand and in bank accounts will be excluded from the eligibility determination.

If approved for D-SNAP, the benefits will be provided on an Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) card within three days of approval.  EBT cards are used like debit cards to buy food at most local grocery stores.

Applicants must visit a DHHS assistance site for in-person verification and to receive an EBT card.  A driver’s license or another form of identification from the head of household must be provided.  The application process may be started at the ACCESSNebraska website.  Fill out an application and submit it, or print the completed application and take it to an assistance site.

Applications for D-SNAP benefits must be made on or before Thursday, April 4 at one of the locations listed below.  Daily hours of operation at each location will be weekdays, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., and Saturdays and Sundays, 12 p.m. to 6 p.m.

The Fremont location has SPECIAL SATURDAY HOURS: Saturday, 3/30 will run 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Arlington Arlington Public School 705 N. 9th Street, Arlington
Ashland Community Resource Center 1324 Silver Street, Ashland
Bellevue First Baptist Church 112 E. 23rd Avenue, Bellevue
Bellwood Bellwood Fire Hall 752 41 Road, Bellwood
Blair Superfoods 208 N. 19th Street, Blair
Elkhorn Lord of Life Church 20844 Bonanza Boulevard, Elkhorn
Fort Calhoun Fort Calhoun Fire Hall 602 N. 14th Street, Fort Calhoun
Fremont* Fremont Public School Admin Bldg. 130 E 9th Street, east meeting room, Fremont
North Bend North Bend Public Library 110 E. 13th Street, North Bend
Omaha Douglas County Extension Office 8015 W. Center Road, Omaha
Omaha Millard Public Library 13214 Westwood Lane, Omaha
Peru Peru Community Church 520 Nebraska Street, Peru
Plattsmouth Plattsmouth Library Auditorium 401 Avenue A, Plattsmouth
Schuyler Presbyterian Church 802 A Street, Schuyler
Springfield Springfield Library Auditorium 665 Main Street, Springfield
Valley Valley City Building 921 S. Mayne Street, Valley
Waterloo Waterloo Public Library 23704 Cedar Drive, Waterloo

*Fremont hours of operation Saturday, 3/30 will run 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

While all application sites are accessible, the following additional locations are available to accommodate those applicants with mobility or accessibility issues:

Auburn DHHS Office 1908 O Street, Auburn
Fremont DHHS Office 1959 E. Military Avenue, Fremont
Omaha DHHS Office 1500 N. 24th Street, Omaha
Omaha DHHS Office 1313 Farnam Street, 3rd floor, Omaha

Current SNAP Recipients

Current SNAP recipients in the following areas DO NOT need to go through the application process to receive assistance: Butler, Cass, Colfax, Dodge, Sarpy, and Washington counties.  SNAP recipients in these counties will automatically receive a supplemental benefit if they are not already receiving the maximum amount for their household size.

SNAP recipients in the following zip codes within the following counties will also receive a supplemental benefit automatically and do not need to visit an application site: Douglas (68007, 68022, 68064, 68069, 68112, 68122, 68142 and 68152), Nemaha (68305, 68321, 68414 and 68421), and Saunders (68003, 68015, 68033, 68035, 68041, 68073 and 68648).  SNAP recipients who lived or worked in other areas of Nemaha County or Saunders County may request disaster supplements by contacting DHHS to attest to their disaster losses by April 4, 2019.

Assistance will also be available at the above listed locations to apply for other DHHS administered programs, such as Medicaid, Aid to Dependent Children, Aid to the Aged, Blind and Disabled, Respite, Child Care Provider Natural Disaster Recovery and Emergency Assistance.

FEMA is continuing to review counties for eligibility for individual assistance and they will be added as they qualify. DHHS will provide updates should additional counties become eligible